<< Back to On The Move
On The Move

Scottish Health Awards 2021 nominations: have you or your colleagues gone that 'extra mile'?

Photo Credit: Shutterstock
Seeking physios who have gone that 'extra mile' to improve people's health and wellbeing


Physiotherapists based in Scotland are being invited to put themselves – or a colleague – forward in the allied health professional (AHP) category of the prestigious Scottish Health Awards 2021, writes Ian A McMillan.

Physios and other AHPs who have gone ‘that extra mile to improve the health and wellbeing of others’ are being sought – whether they are employed in the NHS, health and social care partnerships (including the voluntary sector) or local authorities.

Deadline for nominations is 26 August

Previously named the ‘therapist award’, it is one of 16 categories in this year’s awards, with the deadline for submissions being 26 August.

The Scottish Health Awards 2021 website explains that AHPs manage the care for people ‘throughout the life course from birth to palliative care’ and that the finalists will be announced by 4 October.

‘This award is for an AHP providing excellent care and support for people in Scotland. Is there someone who deserves special recognition for their efforts and dedication to the work they do?

‘Tell us about the person you want to nominate – what is it about them that makes their contribution to the health and social care sector in Scotland so special.’

Option to nominate a team

While teams and groups cannot be nominated for the AHP award, they can be nominated for another category: the ‘top team’ award.

Other categories include the ‘people’s choice’ award, which will be put to a public vote after nominations close on 26 August. When the judging panel has selected the ‘most inspiring’ nominations, people can vote for their favourite one.  

The awards ceremony will take place on 4 November.

The 16 award categories are:

allied health professional award

• innovation award

• volunteers award

• midwife award

• support worker award

• young achiever award

• unsung hero award

• care for mental health award

• integrated care award

• tackling health inequalities award

• leader of the year award

• nurse award

• doctor award

• top team award

• global citizenship award

• people’s choice award


The awards are run by the Daily Record with NHS Scotland and the Scottish Government.

For more details, see: https://www.scottishhealthawards.com/

<< Back to Learning Zone
By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.